India at Tokyo Olympics: Only 28 members of the Indian contingent take part in the opening ceremony on Friday | XtraTime

We are thrilled to have you on our site. If you enjoy the post you have just found kindly Share it with friends.

Xtra Time Web Desk: Unlike the other editions, the entire Indian contingent will not participate in the opening ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics on Friday, July 23. Only 28 members will participate in the opening ceremony as most teams have their first round matches next day and so they will be busy training. The teams not participating include archery, judo, badminton, weightlifting, tennis, hockey and shooting. Six-time world champion boxer MC Mary Kom will be the flag bearer of the opening ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics. Indian men’s hockey team captain Manpreet Singh, who will wear the Indian tricolor for the closing ceremony, will be the sole member of the hockey contingent for the opening ceremony.

Here is the list of the numbers of various disciplines of the Indian contingent that will participate in the opening ceremony:


1. Hockey — 1

2. Boxing – 8

3. Table tennis — 4

4. Rowing – 2

5. Gymnastics – 1

6. Swimming – 1

7. Sailing – 4

8. Fencing — 1

9. Officials — 6

Total as of now (subject to change) – 28.

Not participate.

1. Archery

2. Judo

3. Badminton

4. Weightlifting

5. Tennis

6. Men’s and Women’s Hockey Team

7. Shoot


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed within this article are the personal opinions of the author. The facts and opinions appearing in the article do not reflect the views of and does not assume any responsibility or liability for the same.

Leave a Comment