Ireland names 39-Woman Training Squad for 2021/22 season

We are thrilled to have you on our site. If you enjoy the post you have just found kindly Share it with friends.

1 total views, 1 views today

Ireland’s women’s national rugby union team has appointed a 39-man Irish training squad for preparatory camps for the 2021/22 season.

The training squads consist of four players with no limit at senior level for the national team: Ireland Sevens captain Lucy Mulhall, Kathryn Buggy, Mary Healy and Sam Monaghan.

The latter trio are all IQ Rugby-identified players who practice their profession abroad.

Their inclusion in the squad brings the total number of players identified by IQ Rugby in the training squad to 12.

Head Coach Adam Griggs has expressed his excitement to return to work with the seniors.

“The players are refreshed and energized about our first squad camp this weekend and are looking forward to starting our preparation for Rugby World Cup qualifiers after a prolific Women’s Six Nations 2021,” said Griggs.

“While it is our first camp to be back together, we will live up to the standards that have been set and expect this bloc to be extremely competitive for the season. There are some new faces in the group and we are also welcoming some players back from injury so it’s an ideal opportunity for them to raise their hands during this period.

This is a hugely important year for women in Irish rugby, so it’s great to welcome the new #NothingLikeIt initiative. Working with this group of international players, I understand what that means and I look forward to supporting the campaign and seeing progress in the coming months.”

Ireland training team

Backs (15):

Enya Breen (UL Bohemian/ Munster)
Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/ Ulster)
Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)
Aoife Doyle (Railway Union/Munster)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)
Emily Lane (Blackrock College/Munster)
Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum/Leinster)*
Ellen Murphy (Black Rock College/Leinster)
Amee Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union/Munster)
Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Blackrock College/Connacht)
Laura Sheehan (Exeter Chiefs/IQ Rugby)

Forward (24):

Judy Bobbett (Black Rock College/Leinster)
Claire Boles (Railway Union/Ulster)
Kathryn Buggy (Gloucester-Hartpury/IQ Rugby)*
Anna Caplice (Harlequins/IQ Rugby)
Ciara Cooney (Wasps/IQ Rugby)
Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
Laura Feely (Black Rock College/Connacht)
Nichola Fryday (Black Rock College/Connacht)
Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian/ Munster)
Mary Healy (Lindenwood University/IQ Rugby)*
Brittany Hogan (DCU/Old Belvedere/Ulster)
Neve Jones (Malone/Ulster)
Leah Lyons (Harlequins/IQ Rugby)
Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)
Edel McMahon (Wasps/IQ Rugby)
Claire Molloy (Wasps/IQ Rugby)
Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/IQ Rugby)
Sam Monaghan (Wasps/IQ Rugby)*
Grace Moore (Railway Union/IQ Rugby)
Hannah O’Connor (Black Rock College/Leinster)
Katie O’Dwyer (Railway Union/Leinster)
Chloe Pearse (UL Bohemian/ Munster)
Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)
Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College/Munster)

*Unlimited players

LiveScores now available on

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed within this article are the personal opinions of the author. The facts and opinions appearing in the article do not reflect the views of and does not assume any responsibility or liability for the same.

Leave a Comment