Gautam Gambhir lashes out at third referee after illegal catch of Rahul Tripathi vs PBKS: that was a shock

Gautam Gambhir lashes out at third referee after illegal catch of Rahul Tripathi vs PBKS: that was a shock

2021 IPL: Gautam Gambhir and Graeme Swann criticized the third referee for failing to give his decision in KKR’s favor when Rahul Tripathi caught PBKS captain KL Rahul near the center of the fence at a crucial moment in match 45 on Friday.

Third umpire didn’t give this out although it looked like Tripathi had his fingers under the ball (courtesy of BCCI)

HIGHLIGHTS

  • Rahul Tripathi’s unauthorized catch of KL Rahul raised eyebrows after Match 45
  • The decision found few takers with Graeme Swann and Gautam Gambhir both criticizing the third referee
  • KKR skipper Eoin Morgan thought Tripathi’s catch looked legit in real time

Former Kolkata Knight Riders captain Gautam Gambhir and ex-England spinner Graeme Swann smashed the third umpire in Match 45 of the Indian Premier League after failing to concede a crucial catch by Rahul Tripathi during the Punjab Kings chase in Dubai.

The match went to the wire as PBKS chased 166 with 3 balls left and 5 wickets in hand thanks to a captain knock from KL Rahul. But the result could have been different if the third umpire had considered the catch of Rahul Tripathi legal which would have seen the rear of Rahul with Punjab needing 11 out of 9 balls.

The controversial moment came in the 19th over when Rahul hooked a short delivery from Shivam Mavi to the mid-wicket line. Rahul Tripathi, who was stationed on the boundary line by Eoin Morgan, rushed in to grab the catch as he ducked forward.

KKR vs PBKS, IPL 2021: Highlights | Result

Tripathi started cheering, but the umpires on the field pointed it up. The third umpire, after watching several repetitions, did not hand out the ball, although it appeared that Tripathi had gotten his fingers under the ball without it touching the ground.

However, the decision found few takers with Swann and Gambhir both criticizing the third umpire after the match.

“That was the worst part of the third referee I’ve ever seen,” Swann said on Star Sports’ post-match show.

Gambhir also echoed Swann’s sentiments. “That was a shock, this could end someone’s campaign. He shouldn’t have seen the rerun more than once, it just looked like it. Even if they had taken KL Rahul out it would have been different. We can do this kind of shockers in the IPL,” Gambhir said on the same show.

KKR skipper Eoin Morgan sensed Tripathi’s catch was looking out in real time.

“I thought in real time the Tripathi catch was out. But if you delay it, the third umpire decides otherwise. We started working on it when he made his call,” he said after the game.

Rahul got a reprieve and scored 67 from 55 balls and helped earn 2 crucial points for PBKS, who crossed over the Mumbai Indians to take 5th with 10 points. They will play against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Sharjah next Sunday.

Click here for IndiaToday.in’s full coverage of the coronavirus pandemic.

Leave a Comment