Up to 4 MLAs, another exit likely for Goa Congress

Up to 4 MLAs, another exit likely for Goa Congress

With just four MLAs in the 40-member Assembly after senior leader Luizinho Faleiro joined the Trinamool Congress (TMC), the Congress in Goa may be on the brink of leaving another legislature, it was learned Saturday.

Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco, Congress MLA of Curtorim, may consider joining the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), sources said.

The AAP has been campaigning aggressively in the state for about a year now, and TMC is a recent entrant to Goa’s electoral politics as the party seeks to expand its presence beyond West Bengal.

Lourenco could not be reached for comment on Saturday.

Asked about Laurenco’s possible switch to AAP, Dinesh Gundu Rao, AICC Goa desk in charge, said: “There are all kinds of rumors spread by people who want to create more confusion. I don’t think I should be responding to wild rumours.”

Days before Faleiro’s departure, Congress had dismissed all rumors of his departure, calling it “rumours.”

In a social media post about the work being carried out in his constituency, Lourenco wrote on September 30: “Our work continues, politics does not matter, and I am not sidelined by my party affairs. Our people and our duty come first. God bless us fully and we will make the right decisions at the right time because some filthy leaders destroyed our progress…now time for good decisions no personal agenda but give my people better productivity will be our motto … “

State Covenant for AAP Rahul Mhambre said there was no “formal discussion” with Lourenco. “We have had conversations with like-minded people from other parties. Likewise, such a conversation may have been had with him (Lourenco). No formal decision has been made on this yet,” he said.

Sources said Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal, AAP’s national covenant, is likely to arrive in Goa on Monday.

Meanwhile, former Indian footballer Denzil Franco and Goa Boxing Association vice president Lenny D’Gama joined the TMC on Saturday. Trinamool MLA and Bangladeshi minister Manoj Tiwary, a former Indian cricketer, and Party MP Prasun Banerjee, a former Indian footballer, were present on the occasion.

D’Gama was India’s only boxing official at the recent Tokyo Olympics.


Leave a Comment